Harlan Independent Schools Education Foundation

Welcome to the Home Page of the Harlan Independent Schools Education Foundation, Inc.
The Foundation was incorporated under the laws of the Commonwealth of Kentucky in August 2006 and operates as a 501c3 non-profit organization making contributions tax deductible.
The mission of the Harlan Independent Schools Education Foundation, Inc. is to support the Harlan Independent Schools in its pursuit of excellence in education of the children of this community and to ensure that its legacy is preserved for future generations.
Its purpose is to:
1. To raise funds and other resources to support the educational program of the district
2. To develop and improve public relations and communication between the school system and parents, community, and alumni.
Specifically, the foundation seeks to distribute funds annually to the Harlan Independent School District to supplement and extend state and local tax dollars to help the district assure a program of sufficient breadth and depth to provide a high quality education to students.
Our intention is to conduct annual giving campaigns to provide funds for immediate needs and an on-going endowment campaign to develop a permanent source of funding. Funds raised by the foundation will be distributed by the Board of Directors to the Harlan Independent Board of Education for support of the instructional program. We are currently working to raise $2,000,000 for the endowment fund by 2011, the year the school district celebrates its centennial.
If you are interested in making a contribution or in volunteering to assist the Foundation, click here to e-mail us or or write to us at Harlan Independent Schools Education Foundation, Inc., P.O. Box 1619, Harlan, KY 40831.

Board of Directors
Leo Miller, President - '65
Mike Allison, Vice-President - '74
Doug Mills - '71
Gayle G. Huff - '82
Murphy H. Green - '55
Lisa Trapp - '82
Maurice Hollingsworth - '67
Sandford Logan Weiler, Sr. - '42
Helen Fuggitte -  '64
Ewell Balltrip - '68
Mike Forrester - '67
Gladys Richards - '44
Linda Parsons -  '59
Thomas P. Dupree Jr - '62
Tom Pope - '65
Ex officio: David R. Johnson, James S. Greene III